Skip to content
April 22, 2011 / Anna (NannyShare)

5 Parenting no-no’s that I happily gave in to

During my pregnancy, I was an information junkie.  I trolled the web, message boards, and read tons of books on how to be a parent to a newborn and what to do and not do to produce a baby that slept, ate and pooped like a rockstar.  And I was fully prepared to follow these instruction manuals to the letter.

And then I didn’t.  I lasted approximately 10 hours before succumbing to my first no-no.  Here are my top 5 “rules” that I have broken so far in the name of survival.

1. Introduction of the pacifier – They say not to introduce a pacifier until one month of age.  I think this is to avoid nipple confusion.  I was steadfast that we would adhere to this rule, until my baby decided to use my nipple for comfort. Nonstop. For the first 10 straight hours of his existence.  Until we stuck that beautiful pacifier in his mouth.  No nipple confusion. Only nipple gratitude.

2. Intro to bottle –  I think this is also a nipple confusion issue.  We introduced a bottle at 3 days old.  Mostly because I somehow forgot that I shouldn’t. I was sleep-deprived and needed a break.  Not all babies take bottles, even after waiting the requisite amount of time.  My baby had no problem though, being able to let daddy handle some feedings was awesome.

3. Co-sleeping – I know this is controversial and that many people are huge advocates of co-sleeping.  Since this was my first go, I was thinking that I would just follow the American Pediatrics Association guidelines since I assumed that they would be the ultimate authority on what is best and safest, and they advise against co-sleeping.  But our baby refused to sleep anywhere but with us for the first two months, and co-sleeping was the only way for any of us to get any sleep.

4. Nursing to sleep – I am generally pretty good about this one because I don’t want him to be dependent on eating to sleep.  But it works so damn well that I still use the boob to get him to go down when I am particularly tired and feeling lazy or when he’s particularly fussy.

5. Intro to solids – the latest word from the American Pediatrics Association is to wait until 6 months to introduce solids.  I guess some research has shown that exclusively bf’ing longer leads to reduction in allergies.  My pediatrician suggested I wait until 5 months. I was on board, until my baby hit “the growth spurt that wouldn’t end” at 3.5 months and started nursing every hour and a half.  So, the day that he turned 4 months old, I had a spoonful of sweet potatoes ready to shove in his mouth.  And he loved it.  Couldn’t get enough.  And now I only have to breastfeed every 3 hours like normal people.  Again, nipple gratitude.

We are now almost 5 months in, my baby is happy, thriving, and sleeps great.  And I finally realized that mommy’s intuition works as a pretty good guide, and some rules are meant to be broken, because every baby is different.

What parenting rules has your baby had you bend, twist, or flat out ignore?

Leave a Reply

