Skip to content
April 27, 2011 / Anna (NannyShare)

Our first vacation (attempt) with the baby

For the past two months,  I have been nagging my husband nonstop about taking a vacation.  I took five months off for maternity leave, and I felt like it would be a waste to not  take advantage of the time off to get away, just the three of us.  I also felt like I needed to prove that our lives would not be given over completely to babydom and that we’d still be able to travel and vacation like we always had, just with a little extra cargo.

For the record, my husband was sure that travelling with a four month old would be a nightmare. I was 100% optimistic that it would be great, and we’d have a fabulous, relaxing time.  He finally agreed to give it a go, and we ended up settling on a weeklong trip to Hawaii, where we could do as much or as little as we wanted.

I thought we covered all bases for a successful trip.  We rented a 2 br condo so we could have a kitchen and a room for Max. I also packed a ton of chairs, blankets, toys, and books for him to ensure endless entertainment.  I was completely ready.

The thing is though, that babies are unpredictable.  Max hit a growth spurt the first day we were there that lasted the whole week.  Being constantly hungry made him constantly fussy.  He also hated the heat, and hated the carseat in the heat more.  Naps also disappeared, replaced only by dozing while on the breast, and sleeping through the night turned into waking 3-4 times per night. Needless to say, we spent the majority of the week in the condo, me on the couch breastfeeding, and my husband occupying himself on his laptop.

By the end of the second day, I realized that my vision of this vacation was not going to happen, and that (for the first time), my husband may have been right.  My vacation bar had to be lowered to infant-level.

An infant-level bar meant that if we made it out to do one thing each day, we considered it a success.  A long walk one day. An hour at the pool the next.  We peaked the day we spent two whole hours at the beach, and reached our low the day that we had to abort our one attempt to get out of the condo for a drive around the island because of a hysterical baby.

I wanted so badly to be able to say that travelling with Max was a breeze, but its not true.  Travelling with a baby is exhausting and unpredictable.  I now fully admit that I have never felt such relief to end a vacation and come home.

And, of course, the day after we got back, Max was angellic.  Home sweet home.

